Deep Diving Tiempo

Here I sit, alone in Mexico, happy as a clam. I suppose no one really knows how happy a clam might be, but they sure do smile a lot. As do I.

I speak no discernible Spanish, except in bits and spurts. Actually, let me phrase it this way: I know so many nouns, pleasantries and adjectives. I haven’t learned many verbs, primarily I use “habla,” as in “no.” I did in fact tell my taxi driver yesterday that I love myself, Kristen, when I OBVIOUSLY meant to tell him that my name is Kristen. WHATEVS. Oh, and I can help you have a baby in Spanish by telling you to push and breathe and AGAIN, AGAIN, STRONGER! And now relax.

I wish I spoke it mo’ bettah though. But back in my real life, I have no place to really practice and my dyslexia and history en Français gets in the way of my brain sometimes. I still speak better French and will often start in one language, lose words, and fill in with another language. Makes for lots of befuddlement and occasional humor. I also noticed that I speak more quietly in English when speaking to someone who lives here—a little ashamed that I can’t communicate to them in their language, maybe? I do my best.

I brought along a heavy soul expansion book (if allowed) on this trip. Part of my nature is that I’m a digger, a soul-excavator. One of the reasons I’m here (you, too, if you’re into it). But there are periods where I feel I’ve grown complacent or hit a dead-end. My sis has been telling me about this book for months. It’s been quite a while, it seems, since I’ve found a psyche-centered book that called to me to open it and dip my toes in. The magical land here in Mexico always supports me with this. I’ve had a multitude of beautiful, literally life-shifting experiences originating here and so I’m opening myself to whatever it’s time for me to discover and hopefully integrate. The author gives warning that the contents of the book could cause turmoil and distress, but also profound shifting. Knowing myself, and maybe most folks experience this, I’ll feel up, then down, then back to some sense of equilibrium and hopefully, more peace. Always can use more peace, inner and outer, right?

The ideas in this book are dense and might need me to read them repeatedly in order to process. At this point, I could share a paragraph or lines that hit me in the heart, but I don’t think I could paraphrase in a way that would do them justice. In time, perhaps.

I went to bed early and arose before the sun this morning. I did my workout (have I told you about the 7 Minute Workout yet??? It’s the thing that’s finally causing me to drop some of that hormonal belly weight!) and took time to get my day started and myself packed up. I’m only in this AirBnB for one night, which kinda sucks since the guy who runs it is super sweet and had it all decked out for me. I opened a full bar of soap for gawd’s sake, I might ask him if I can keep it (versus him tossing it). I drank the sweetest beer, technically a regular ole Corona but still! with lime last night then followed that with a pack of Oreos (admittedly not my cleanest meal ever). But before that, I walked down twelve million steps to feast on a vegetarian buffet. So there. I try to be the Balance Queen in my day to day.

Tonight, I head to a little town called Mezcales where my hostess has a pool for me to practice my underwater breathing skills. And tomorrow, Casitas Maraikas for Booty Luv and girl time and general all around debauchery.

In the meantime, for this moment, life feels amazing, full and grand. I’ll take it.

Leave a comment